(Home >> Files >> Directory Privacy)

Overview

This feature allows you to protect specific directories in your cPanel account's files. If you enable this feature, the system prompts users to log in when they attempt to view the contents of a protected folder.

Select a directory

To manage directory privacy settings and users, you must first select a directory to manage.

  • To select a directory, click the desired directory's name.
  • To view and select subdirectories, click the parent directory's folder icon () and then click the desired subdirectory name.
  • A protected directory's subdirectories inherit their parent directory's password protection.
  • The lock icon () indicates that Directory Privacy configurations already exist for that directory.

Security Settings

You must perform these steps and click Save to enable this feature.

To password protect the selected directory, perform the following steps:

  1. Select the Password protect this directory checkbox.

    To remove password protection from a directory, deselect the Password protect this directory checkbox and click Save.

  2. Enter a display label for the directory in the Enter a name for the protected directory text box.

    This name only functions as a label for the directory. Do not confuse it with the directory's actual name.

  3. Click Save. A confirmation message will appear. Click Go Back to return to the directory's configuration.

In This Document

Related Documentation

For Hosting Providers

After you complete this process, you must create a user that can access this directory.

Create User

To create an authorized user for the selected directory, perform the following steps:

  1. Enter the desired username in the Username text box.
  2. Click Save. A confirmation message will appear. Click Go Back to return to the directory's configuration.

Authorized Users

The Authorized Users menu lists the directory's existing authorized users. To delete a user, select that user and click Delete User. A confirmation message will appear. Click Go Back to return to the directory's configuration.

To change an existing user's password, enter the user's information (with the new desired password) in the Create User section of the interface and click Save.