Server Profile

Valid for version 82

Version:

82

84

86

88

94

96


Last modified: March 11, 2022

Overview

The Server Profile interface allows you to select a server’s profile, based on the service that you want the server to provide. This allows you to manage specific services to reduce the resource load of a server. You can also configure optional roles for certain profiles.

Important:
  • When you upgrade to cPanel & WHM version 76, the system sets your default server profile to the Standard Node profile.

  • You cannot change your server profile selection if your server has at least one user account. For information about user backup and restoration, read our How to Use Server Profiles documentation.

  • Some profile settings disable features in the cPanel interface and WHM interface. For more information, read our How to Use Server Profiles documentation.

Note:

This interface only displays for root-enabled users.

The Server Profile interface

This interface lets you configure a server profile. The system will guide you through the process.

Select Profile

Use this interface to select a profile that you want to configure for your server. A star icon (Default) designates the server’s current profile configuration. Click the information icon (Info) next to the profile’s description to display which roles that profile affects.

Important:

We do not recommend that you use experimental profiles on production environments. For more information about the development status for Experimental profiles, read our cPanel Linked Nodes Roadmap documentation.

Note:

Select a server profile, then click Continue. The Select Options interface will appear.

You can select from the following profile options:

Standard Node

A server that provides every service and access to all cPanel features. This is the default system profile.

Database Node

Important:

This profile is experimental.

A server that only provides services and cPanel features that allow the system to serve databases. This profile provides the following roles:

  • Enabled rolesMySQL/MariaDB, Local Mail, Send Mail

  • Disabled rolesCalendars and Contacts, DNS, File Storage, FTP, Receive Mail, Spam Filter, Web Disk, Webmail, Web Server

  • Optional rolesPostgreSQL

DNS Node

Important:

This profile is experimental.

A server that only provides services and cPanel features that allow the system to serve Domain Name System (DNS) zones. This profile provides the following roles:

  • Enabled rolesDNS, Local Mail, Send Mail

  • Disabled rolesCalendars and Contacts, File Storage, FTP, PostgreSQL, Receive Mail, Spam Filter, Web Disk, Webmail, Web Server

  • Optional rolesMySQL/MariaDB

Mail Node

Important:

This profile is experimental.

A server that only provides services and cPanel features that allow the system to serve mail. This profile provides the following roles:

  • Enabled rolesCalendars and Contacts, Local Mail, Receive Mail, Send Mail, Webmail

  • Disabled rolesFile Storage, FTP, MySQL/MariaDB, PostgreSQL, Web Disk, Web Server

  • Optional rolesDNS, Spam Filter

Select Options

Note:
  • This interface is only available for the Database Node, DNS Node, and Mail Node profiles.

  • If you select a profile with optional roles, you can return to this interface to enable or disable these optional roles at any time.

Set the toggle to enable or disable the optional roles you want for your server’s profile, then click Continue. The Review Changes interface will appear.

Review Changes

This interface displays the current profile selection’s enabled, disabled, and unaffected roles.

Note:

If you select a profile currently installed on the system you cannot proceed. You must select a different profile from the Select Options step to proceed.

Review the changes, then click Set Profile to proceed with activation of the selected profile.

Activating Profile

This interface activates the selected profile. Click Show Details to display the activation log in real time, or use the system directory link provided in the interface to view the log.

Note:

The profile activation process does not terminate if you close the browser window.

The system notifies you when the profile activation completes. Click Go Back to return to the Select Profile interface.

Additional Documentation