Account Transfer

Valid for versions 82 through the latest version

Version:

82


Last modified: June 13, 2024

Overview

The Account Transfer interface displays the status and progress of your account restoration as well as any warnings. Account transfers appear on the left side of the interface, while site restorations appear on the right side of the interface.

Note:

This interface only displays if an account transfer is in progress.

In progress

To pause this process, click Pause.

Note:

If you accidentally close this interface in WHM, navigate to WHM’s Review Transfers and Restores interface (WHM » Home » Transfers » Review Transfers and Restores) and click the appropriate View link.

Use the /usr/local/cpanel/bin/view_transfer script to watch the process’s progress via the command line. The correct command appears at the bottom of the WHM interface:

You may close this window and view the transfer on the command line: /usr/local/cpanel/bin/view_transfer DHGfWHNIu8STwNfZ3ywIOLLSGiCQtS

Completed

After the transfer and restoration process is complete, the top of the interface displays a Completed message. The links below the Transfer and Restore sections allow you to review the account’s transfer and restoration logs, which can help you identify and resolve any warnings or skipped items. The total number of warnings and skipped items appears below each account’s link.

Status Description
Success A successful transfer or restoration.
Altered Items that the system modified during the restoration process. For example, this may indicate conflicts between MySQL® or PostgreSQL® users and databases.
Failed Items that failed to transfer. For example, this may indicate that no available IP addresses exist on your system, or you do not have permission to use more IP addresses.
Dangerous Items that the system marked as dangerous and which it will not restore. For example, this may indicate:
  • Symlinks inside the archive that do not exist in the home directory.
  • setuid binaries.
  • Items that a user or domain owns, and which the system will not restore.
Skipped Items that the system did not mark as dangerous, but do not meet the current security context. For example, this may indicate:
  • vhost includes.
  • Reseller privileges.
Warning Non-fatal problems during the restoration process that do not fit any of the above categories. For example, this may indicate that the system cannot read the reseller privileges file.

To view a log file, click the appropriate link to the log file.

Note:

To confirm that the system added the newly-transferred account to your backup configuration, navigate to WHM’s Backup Configuration interface (WHM » Home » Backup » Backup Configuration).

Summary

In addition to the transfer and restoration logs, the Summary section provides a list of severe warnings:

  • Invalid log files that the system rejected.
  • Renamed databases.
  • Renamed database users.
  • Skipped database grant tables.

You can use the Rename links in this section to change the names of accounts, databases, and usernames.

Restricted Restore errors

If a component of the backup file experiences an issue (for example, a MySQL grant table is compromised, or a symbolic link attack), the system will not restore that portion of the backup file, and the interface will issue a warning.

Additional Documentation