Configuration Cluster

Valid for versions 82 through the latest version

Version:

82


Last modified: October 5, 2021

Overview

The Configuration Cluster interface allows you to link a master server to additional (secondary) servers in the configuration cluster. You can then copy changes you make in WHM’s Update Preferences interface (WHM >> Home >> Server Configuration >> Update Preferences) settings on the master server out to all servers on the cluster.

Important:
  • If you log in to a secondary configuration cluster server, the interface will not indicate that the secondary server resides in the configuration cluster. You can only view this information on the master server.
  • If you make changes to the configuration cluster’s settings on a secondary server, the master server’s settings may overwrite those changes.

Assigning the master server in the configuration cluster

To set up a configuration cluster in this interface, log in as root or a reseller with root-level privileges on the server that you wish to use as your master server. When you link to a server through the Configuration Cluster interface, the linked server becomes a secondary server in the master server’s configuration cluster.

Updating configuration cluster settings

Any time you update your settings in WHM’s Update Preferences interface (WHM >> Home >> Server Configuration >> Update Preferences) on the master server, you can then choose to copy the master server’s changes out to all of its cluster servers. To do this, you must select the Send my settings to all configuration cluster servers checkbox. This will then send your updates to all servers on the cluster.

Import configuration settings

To import a service configuration from a remote server, use WHM’s Transfer Tool interface (WHM >> Home >> Transfers >> Transfer Tool).

The configuration cluster table

The Configuration Cluster interface table contains information about the servers in the cluster:

  • Server — The server’s hostname or IP address.
    Important:

    You can use any other domain name that resolves to the server’s IP address for this value. However, to prevent problems if you migrate domains to another server, we recommend that you use the server’s hostname.

  • User — The username of the server’s root-level account. This value defaults to the root user.
  • Remote Access Key — The signature of the server’s API token or a remote access key.

Add a server

To add a server to the configuration cluster, perform the following steps:

  1. Click Create at the top-right or bottom-right corner of the configuration cluster servers table.
  2. Enter the server name in the Server text box.
  3. Enter the server’s root-level account username in the User text box.
  4. Paste the server’s API token or a remote access key in the API Token or Remote Access Key text box.
    • You can generate an API token in WHM’s Manage API Tokens interface (WHM >> Home >> Development >> Manage API Tokens).
      Note:

      When you create an API token for a configuration cluster, it must have the root-level Everything Access Control List (ACL) privilege. For more information, review the Edit Reseller Nameservers and Privileges documentation.

    • You can generate a remote access key in WHM’s Remote Access Key interface (WHM >> Home >> Clusters >> Remote Access Key).
      Warning:

      We strongly recommend that you use API tokens. We deprecated WHM’s Remote Access Key feature and plan to remove it in a future release.

  5. Click Save. The server will appear in the configuration cluster servers table.

Edit a server in the configuration cluster

To modify a server in the configuration cluster, perform the following steps:

  1. Click the arrow icon (An arrow icon.) that corresponds to the server you want to modify.
  2. Make any desired changes in the User and API Token or Remote Access Key text boxes.
  3. Click Save.

Delete a server

Note:

When you delete a server from the list of configuration cluster servers, the settings that you already applied to that server remain in place. The master server will not relay any new changes and will not overwrite changes that you make on the previously-linked server.

To remove a server from the list of the configuration cluster’s servers, perform the following steps:

  1. Click the trash icon (A trash can icon.) that corresponds to the server that you wish to delete.
  2. A confirmation window will appear. Click Continue.

Additional Documentation